2001 Undergraduate Student Summer Research Fellowships


Each grant lists individual student researcher(s) with respective cooperating faculty member(s) in parenthesis.



●        Ryan Ferguson (John Fizel) - $1,200
          “Rationale Behind Last Minute Bidding”


●        Susan Klinger (John Fizel) - $1,200
          “The Impact of Late Bidding in Online Reverse Auctions”


●        Clint N. Lewis (John Fizel) - $1,200
          “Industry Analysis of Prices:  The Effects of E-commerce”


●        Dean Lutz (Brian Boscaljon) - $1,200
          “The Importance of Non-Financial Leading Indicators in Increasing Firm Value”


●        James Washburn (James Kurre) - $1,400
          “Brain Drain or Brain Gain in Erie County?”




●        Brian Hill (Robert Gray) - $1,200
          “Investigation of Remote Sensing for Condition-Based Maintenance”



●        Emily C. Allen (John Gamble) - $1,200
          “Information Technology, Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) and Multilateral Treaty Making: From the Typewriter to the World Wide Web”


●        Teresa A. Bailey and Aimée S. Peterson (John Gamble ) - $1,200
          “The Comprehensive Database of Multilateral Treaties (CDMT) Next Phase”


●        Miles J. Dinnen (Anne Pancake) - $1,000
          “Research of the History and Culture of Kingston, Ontario and the Thousand Islands”


●        Nicole Dirling (John Gamble) - $1,115
          “Regionalism and Globalism in International Law”


●        Justina Egan (Carl Kallgren) - $1,200
          “The Relationship between Religiosity and Risk-Taking Behaviors”


●        Miranda Galbreath, Adan Huber, and Melinda Duckett (Victoria Kazmerski) - $1,200
          “Gender Comparison of Physiological and Emotional Response to Erotic Reading Material”


●        Elizabeth A. Hayes (Colleen Kelley) - $1,200
          “The Political Rhetoric, Media Framing, and Public Opinion of World War I”

●        Dodi M. Piotrowski, Destiny Dudenhoeffer, and Melinda Duckett (Victoria Kazmerski) - $2,290
          “Eating Disorders, Age and Ethnicity in Females in Erie County”  


●        Jackie Tetuan (Victoria Kazmerski) - $1,200
          “Aging Effects on Performance on a Spatial Stroop Task”


●        Jessica Turos, Jenn Enas, Adam Wagner, Kyle French, Kathleen Scarpino, Jill Johnson, Karen Simpson, Nicole Harlan, and Jesse Matola (Dawn Blasko, Kathy Holliday-Darr, and John Kerwin) – $10,837
          “An Interdisciplinary Project for the Development and Evaluation of a Web-Based Spatial Visualization Training Program”




●        Elizabeth A. Aaron (Michael Campbell) - $1,200
          “Ethylene Production in Developing Orchids”


●        Gregg T. Beaumont (Bruce Wittmershaus) - $1,200
          “Using Förster Resonance Excitation Energy Transfer Networks in Polymer Thin Film Luminescent Solar Concentrators”


●        Patricia Bettinger (Larry Eckroat) - $1,200
          “Determining Genetic Diversity in Phragmites, Phragmites australis, Using Microsatellite Analysis”


●        Brian M. Coleridge (Alan Jircitano) - $1,200
          “Synthesis and Characterization of a Macrocyclic Ligand: Tetraaza[1,6,11,16][b,g,l,j] Tetrabenzocycloeicosine”

●        Stacy Cox (Thomas Spudich) - $1,200
          “The Characterization and Use of an Acoustic-Optic Background Correction System for Atomic Emission Spectrometry”


●        Justin Crepp (Darren Williams) - $1,200
          “The Hill Radius”


●        Melissa Feile (Michael Campbell) - $1,200
          “Changes in Gene Expression in Arabidopsis thaliana Regulated by Lead and Arsenic Levels”


●        Chris Felege (Mark Pyron) - $1,200
          “Iowa Darter Habitat in Presque Isle Bay”


●        Jeana Ferilla (Michael Campbell) - $1,200
          “Mitochondrial Sequence Diversity in Ambystoma maculatum Samples Collected for Adult Tissues”


●        Kristin E. Fleming (Michael Campbell) - $1,235
          “Purification and Characterization of BCAT for the Amino Acid Isoleucine”


●        Matthew L. Hillwig (Michael Campbell) - $1,200
          “Determining Genetic Diversity in Prunus serotina: Using Prunus persica Microsatellite Markers”


●        Chayanant Hongfa (Martin Kociolek) - $1,200
          “Development of Methods for the Synthesis of 1,3 –Amino Alcohols from Isoxazolines”


●        Lisa Kobylinski (James Warren, Jr.) - $1,200
          “Characterization of a Putative Apoptosis Related Factor in Zebrafish”


●        Eugene Lhymn (Richard Stankewitz) - $1,200
          “Evaluating Integrals Without Calculus”


●        Tessa Marshall (Thomas Spudich) - $1,200
          “Radiation Characterization of Photochromic Pt(II) Compounds of o-Aminobenzaldehyde and Derivatives”


●        Jason B. McLafferty (Bruce Wittmershaus) - $1,200
          “Choosing Dyes for a Multidye Luminescent Solar Concentrator”


●        Molly E. Means (James Warren, Jr.) - $1,200
          “Sequencing and Characterization of the Zebrafish (Danio rerio) Necdin Gene”


●        Melissa M. Moser (James Warren, Jr.) - $1,200
          “Zebrafish (Danio rerio) tag 1:  Characterizing the Expression Pattern of its Protein via Whole Mount Antibody Stains”


●        Michael N. Perkins (Darren Williams) - $1,200
          “The Orbital Evolution of Uranus and Neptune in the Early Solar System”


●        Nathan D. Polansky (Michael Campbell) - $1,200
          “Characterization of Unknown Gene from Potato”


●        Jennine Rozanski (James Warren, Jr.) - $1,200
          “Characterization and Analysis of the Mature Astrocyte Marker GFAP in Zebrafish”


●        Lee T. Szkotnicki (Michael Campbell) - $1,200
          “Localization of Branched-chain Amino Acid Aminotransferase mRNA in Potato”


●        Bruce Tepke (G. William Baxter) - $1,200
          “Stress Distribution in a Granular Medium”


●        Amie E. Uhal (Mary Chisholm) - $1,200
          “The Identification of Some Major Odorants in Persian Lime Juice Using Column Chromatography and Gas Chromatography-Olfactometry (GCO)”


●        Lauren Ulrich (Alan Jircitano) - $1,200
          “Studies of Photochromic Pt(II) Compounds of o-Aminobenzaldehyde and Derivatives”


●        Charles Utz (Brian Moore) - $1,000
          “Computer Simulations of Liquid Clusters: Collisional Processes and the Effect of the Range of the Interatomic Potential”